Professor Shing-Tung Yau

 Director, Shing-Tung Yau Center of Southeast University

 Professor, Harvard University

 Member, US National Academy of Sciences

 Member, American Academy of Arts and Sciences

 Foreign Member, Chinese Academy of Science

 Winner of Fields Medal, Crafoord Prize, Wolf Prize, Marcel Grossmann Award and Shaw Prize 

Professor Shing-Tung Yau, born in 1949 in Shantou, Guangdong Province, is a Chinese and naturalized American mathematician, and one of the most influential contemporary Mathematicians. In 1969, Yau graduated from the Department of Mathematics, the Chinese University of Hong Kong, and was then admitted to the University of California, Berkeley where he completed his PhD degree two years later in 1971 (at the age of 22) under the supervision of Prof. Shiing-Shen Chern. From the same year, he taught at the Institute for Advanced Study at Princeton, State University of New York, and in Stanford University successively as a Distinguished Professor. Since 1987 to now, he has been a Distinguished Professor at Harvard University. He has also served as the Director of Institute of Mathematical Sciences and a Distinguished Visitig Professor-at-large at the Chinese University of Hong Kong since 1994 and 2003 respectively. In addition, he has been a professor at the Department of Physics, Harvard University since 2013.

Yau has made extremely significant contributions to differential geometry. In 1976, he proved the Positive Mass Conjecture in the Calabi Conjecture and Einstein’s equation, and provided solutions through important integration of differential geometry and differential equations, which has far-reaching consequences till today. Thereafter, Yau continued to make a number of achievements in geometry, topology and physics. In 1982, at the age of 33, Yau was awarded the Fields Medal, the highest honor in the international mathematics, regarded as the Nobel Prize in mathematics. He continued to be recognized via the Veblen Prize in Geometry (1981), the MacArthur Fellowship (1985), the Crafoord Prize (1994) and the US National Medal of Science (1997). In 2010, Professor Yau received the Wolf Prize in Mathematics in recognition of his lifetime contribution to geometric analysis, and his enormous impact on many areas of geometry and physics.

Yau initiated the development of Mathematics in China. He led a number of research institutes in China, including Shing-Tung Yau Center of Southest University (SEUYC). As the Director of SEUYC, he is fully responsible for academic planning, talent introduction, overseas recruitment and other important work of SEUYC. 

Academic achievements:

Calabi Conjecture, Complex Monge-Ampere Equations, Minkowski Problem, Positive Energy Theorem, Hermitian-Einstein Metric, Smith Conjecture, Mirror Symmetry Conjecture (SYZ Conjecture), Liu-Sun-Yau Metric, etc.

Awards and honors:

2023, Shaw Prize in Mathematical Sciences

2018, Marcel Grossmann Awards

2010, Wolf Prize

2010, Asian American Engineers of the Year Award

2010, AAEOY Distinguished Science & Technology Award 2003, China International Science and Technology Cooperation Award 

1997, United States National Medal of Science

1994, Crafoord Prize of Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences

1991, Humboldt Research Award, Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, Germany 

1985, MacArthur Fellows

1984, Science Digest, America's 100 Brightest Scientists under 40

1982, Fields Medal, International Congress of Mathematicians

1981, John J. Carty Award, United States National Academy of Sciences

1981, Oswald Veblen Prize in Geometry, American Mathematical Society

1980, John Simon Guggenheim Fellowship

1979, California Scientist of the Year

1975-1976, Sloan Research Fellowships 

Selected Books: